Cliffhangers

Meeting you was like that time
when I looked both ways and
crossed the street but
didn’t see the bicycle coming
and

meeting you was like that time
when I turned around the corner
pulling on my hat and
didn’t see the halfnaked swimmer
with the flat abs, green shorts
and

meeting you was like that time
when I was reading on my way to class
and crossed the street between lines
of Locke and Mill and someone rammed
their horn, but I couldn’t see the driver
and

meeting you was like that time
when we went hiking in the woods
near the river where we pretended
to be like Pocahontas and Tarzan
making way along the slippery shore
and

meeting you was like that time
when I crawled into bed
after broken sleep in the night
and the sheets were warm
and my dreams were close
and

2 thoughts on “Cliffhangers

Share Your Thoughts

