Prosaic

pro·sa·ic [proh-zey-ik]
adjective
1. commonplace or dull; matter-of-fact or unimaginative
2. of or having the character or form of prose rather than poetry

Before it meant boredom
it meant
something else
not this
it said to me
not this

We were sitting
in a global village
that coffee shop
over there
when I ordered tea
and he ate a cookie
and we spoke about crossfit
the exercises fit
but the cross
the cross didn’t fit
not this
I said to him
not this

His pictures online
where I met him
looked
like I might want to meet him
so I met him
not this
his pictures told me
not this

but they were all the same
suffused with the
susurrus
of murmuring in the background
the whir of computers connecting
to a web of information
that had tied us together
a spider somewhere out of sight
singsong platitudes
over coffee
and cookie crumbs
brushed to the floor
not this
not this

Share Your Thoughts

