Symmetry with a Star

Lying back looking skywards
I see a single star breach the storm clouds
amid epithets of lightning
and carpets of battering rain.

It seems so small to me, this star
I remind myself it might be
much larger than me
than this courtyard

than this country
and this earth
or it might be dead
all this light periphery

a lingering ghost of what it seems to be.
Lying back looking skywards
I find the stars a lot like me
like anybody I see

they could be so much bigger
than at first they seem to be
or they could each
be dead already

Share Your Thoughts

