Lamentations and Longing

Wandering the streets
I stare at my feet
the white stones on the ground
broken all around

I hear our cries echoing
my tears still choking
the breath from my lungs
at our city undone

Somewhere she reckons
all her jewels beckon
to sinners and thieves
raped on her knees

Somewhere she whispers
singing sweet vespers
of a dream once begotten
so swiftly forgotten

I hear our lamentations
exiled to nations
intent to defeat us
their whips fall and beat us

Wandering the words
I turn my eyes toward
that hope in the end
of our city risen again

Share Your Thoughts

