Alphabet Soup

Once upon a time I began using this website called Plinky that gives you daily writing prompts. Longtime readers might even recall some of my Plinky posts; they always had a little lightbulb at the bottom, indicative of the fact I had posted them through Plinky.

In any case, one of the prompts I didn’t find very lengthy, so I never posted it here: The challenge was to write a piece of poetry using only words that began with the letter S. It was a fun exercise. I enjoyed it.

The idea, however, never left me, and I decided someday I would write a slew of new poems, each of them directed by a single letter only. (I suspect X, Z, and Q will be challenging.) I’ve written a few more of these, and now that I’ve got a small number of poems amassed, I figured I’d share them here–and I encourage you to do the same!

Some day I’ll have all twenty-six poems written. Perhaps you’ll beat me there?

A

Alongside atrocities
An awakening
Angled at attention
Alas!
Ascension anticipated
Aimless again

B

Befitting belonging:

Be born
Be brave
Be bright

Bygone beauty
Besieged
Brought back

C

Compare/contrast

Calculated contempt
casually contains
contrived catastrophes
concurrent climaxes
callous conclusions

Creativity
–charismatic, courageous–
contains
curiosity
cunning
carefully conditioned chaos

D

Discouraged
Down… down… down…
Diligently dying
disrespected
dissatisfied

Disrupt destruction!

Derelict dystopias
decided diseases–
Disciples disagreed
disillusionment dulled
direction drafted

Decisions done!

S

Suffering silently
She sleeps
Sexual somethings
Sinners sink

Soliloquy–
Sayonara, slicha
Solitude
Suffered silently

She slept

One thought on “Alphabet Soup

Share Your Thoughts

