Coming Out

There is a place for me in the world
this much I can see
only now, other people
have to see me

I can hide in the shadows, friendly and shy
and still be welcomed wholly
but wholly is only halfway
when they know only half of me

I can say the words and hear them
and hear them, too, can you
but until you see them, feel them
it doesn’t mean they’re true

I can stand before you
truest in self
and still be seen through
when your eyes shut themselves

I can raise the shield
and I can raise the sword
but senseless battles wage war not change
and till our arms are open everything will be the same

I can tell you, time and time again
who and what I am
but all my words mean nothing
if you don’t listen and see who I am.

Excerpted from To the World I’ll Be

Share Your Thoughts

